Photo’s: the award ceremony in 2010

The jury of the Gilbert Monod de Froideville Protocol Prize announced another award ceremony at June 15, 2012. In the ‘oud-Katholieke Kerk‘ (old-Catholic Church) in The Hague the protocol prize will be awarded to the best usher of the Protocolbureau.
This will be the third time the protocol prize ceremony is being organised. In 2008 the jury choose Stan van Boxtel and Tijmen Struijk as winners, in 2010 Gijs Hoogeveen was the best usher.

For the prize, the Protocolbureau will nominate six of its best ushers. The Protocolbureau’s clients then judge the nominated ushers according to the criteria led down. Based on the client’s advice and by means of an interview, the jury will choose the winner of the Gilbert Monod de Froideville Prize.

The Gilbert Monod de Froideville Protocol Prize aims at enhancing the image of our profession and throwing light on the necessary qualities of a protocol officer. A successful gathering or meeting is, to a high degree, the result of organisational professionalism, with experience in protocol being an essential skill.

The former Master of Ceremonies of her Majesty the Queen, Gilbert Monod de Froideville inspired many ushers. He did already so when the Protocolbureau was established. His enthusing lecture on protocol, in 1996, proved a perfect preparation for the Protocolbureau’s first assignment: the presentation of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Award to His Majesty the King of Spain. Subsequently, the ushers used to stand by him during the Royal Weddings, State Funerals and Royal Baptismal Ceremonies. On 6 June 2007, the managing director of the Protocolbureau brought the award into existence in the presence of all the ushers. On 25 June 2008, the award was presented for the first time.

The winner of the GMdeF Prize meets the following criteria:

– Exceptional knowledge of protocol.
– Profound organisational insight.
– Excellent host in any circumstances.
– Shows informal leadership.
– Is stress-resistant, flexible and knows how to improvise.

Members of the jury:
– Jonkheer J.P. de Savornin Lohman, LL M (chairman)
– Drs. B.A.B.F. Hulleman
– Drs. E. Krijger
– Mr. B.L.J.M. Lammers
– Ms. M. Zuijderhoudt

Choose another article of your interest in the blog archive in the right column. Or scroll further down for books about protocol, interesting links, articles about protocol and protocol related tweets.